Thread: Making BSGO Run Better. 64bit and 32bit Unity Player.
View Who's Online
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Tags
Tags
None
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools



Warrior Nation
 
WNxValdiore
08-16-2012, 07:13 AM
Unregistered
#
Orange Mark 021
Making BSGO Run Better. 64bit and 32bit Unity Player.
Good Morning Ladies Gentlemen.

I wanted to make a thread for those that are having difficulties with Unity Player and BSGO crashes, freezes, socket errors... or anything of this sort. Hopefully some of the instructions here will further help those that are experiencing very frequent crashes on their systems. These instructions can reduce if not eliminate all the crashes with Unity Player and BSGO all together. I will be as discreet as possible.

First of all computer specifications and requirements... You will always have problems running BSGO if your hardware isn't up to par to running the game. To get an idea of what your hardware specification should be this table will help you find, or see what might be out dated hardware in your system, that you may want to replace to run the game better... and of course.. if you don't meet these specifications, use the in game preferences to lower, and or adjust the game graphics quality and rendering to a lower level so you can run the game smoothly, or as smooth as you can for the time being.

• OS Version: Windows XP 32 bit and above, Mac OS X, (Win98, Windows 2000 and Windows Server are not supported)
• System RAM: 2 GB
• CPU: Intel Dual Core 2.3 GHz to 2.69 GHz or comparable
• Video Card: NVIDIA 8000 series (preferably NVIDIA 8800 cards or above) or comparable
• Video RAM: 512mb+
• Shader model: 2.0 and above
• Mouse and Keyboard
• Stereo Sound support
• 1 GB free Hard-disk space for Unity cache file
  • and please have a decent internet connection DSL or Cable. (please don't expect to run BSGO on dial up.)
Now to address the crashes and Unity Player Instructions:

For those running a 32 bit Operating System... Meaning the following: Windows XP 32 bit or Windows Vista 32 bit, Windows 7 32 bit, or any other operating system that is a 32 bit system. "These are most likely the people normally experiencing the most frequent crashes on there system." Please follow these instructions:

1) download the zip file (http://www.4shared.com/zip/UyndAc7o/...3-0-63135.html)
2) uninstall the unity web player
3) install version 3.3.0.63135 from the zip file
4) replace ... in the following step with your windows user name
5) delete the unity folder found in C:\Documents and Settings\...\Local Settings\Application Data\
  • If you are having a problem with this step read below... (start reading at the first sight of larger text.)
6) copy the unity folder from the zip file to the location you just deleted it
7) the game and web player settings window should now be functional
8) ***note*** the unity web player may crash but you can refresh the browser window and try again


If any of you are having trouble finding the folder "Application Data." in your Documents and Settings. It is because this folder is defaulted as a hidden folder for windows. to make the folder visible. do the following:

  1. My Computer.
  2. Main Disk C:\ or your Main Disk Drive
  3. Documents and Settings
  4. The USER account folder. (most likely your name and/or the logged in name... if you press start the big button at the bottom of your desktop, the user name appears at the top of the start menu or bottom depending on your Operating System with the pretty picture next to it that is the same name as the folder you are looking for.)
  5. Application Data. (IF IT IS NOT VISIBLE do the following below)
  • on the main bar at the top press TOOLS
  • Folder Options
  • at the top tab to "View"
  • The 2nd category down view hidden files and folders make sure that is enabled! to show hidden files and folders.
  • you should then be able to see the application data folder.
6. Delete the Unity Folder and replace as directed in the instructions above.

return back up to the instructions above to finish.

Those Running a 64 bit operating system. please follow these instructions:

1) Visit webpage http://unity3d.com/webplayer/. Click on "Player Settings". Delete all. Repeat this procedure for all web browsers (even ones you do not use).
2) Close all browsers. Open Control panel/Programs and settings. Locate Unity Web Player and uninstall.

3) Open browser(s) and delete the cache (clear every browser you have, including IE). This is found under settings/options.

4) While in settings/options, click on "check for updates" to update browser. NOTE: to update Firefox, click on orange Firefox Icon/Help. Restart browser.

5) Google "Flash" and update it. Google "JAVA" and update it.

6) Visit webpage
http://unity3d.com/webplayer/. Click "Download Web Player".
7) Restart computer. Install Unity web Player.


Firefox Web Browser seems to be the most stable Browser to run Battlestar Galactica. so when playing Battlestar Galactica you may want to use Firefox. this is a recommendation, some people don't experience better performance, some do. I do experience better performance... however your findings my be different.

Thank you, good hunting.

*WNxValdiore



 
 
 

Primary: Neverwinter
Warrior Nation
 
Venezuela WNxBoanerges
08-16-2012, 10:45 AM
Local Time: 08:44 AM
Join Date: Dec 2011   #
WNxBoanerges's Avatar
Boa: Easy to pronounce
Something interesting about unity is that it can actually run on a Pentium D 2.8 processor, and a 512mb Nvidia 6200 A-LE (agp).

It's the poorest thing that can run it though. And with all settings at minimum using a 1200x1024 display.

Also, do you know a way to delete the caché without being online?




 
 
WNxBoanerges is offline
 

Warrior Nation
 
United States WNxGrantS
08-16-2012, 01:14 PM
Local Time: 07:14 AM
Join Date: Oct 2011   #
WNxGrantS's Avatar
Thx val this will really help. Sometimes i crash HEAVILY so i will definitely try this



 
 
WNxGrantS is offline
 

Warrior Nation
 
WNxCaliban5
08-16-2012, 01:51 PM
Unregistered
#
Thanks Validore



 
 
 

Warrior Nation
 
WNxValdiore
08-16-2012, 03:39 PM
Unregistered
#
Quote:
Originally Posted by WNxBoanerges View Post
Something interesting about unity is that it can actually run on a Pentium D 2.8 processor, and a 512mb Nvidia 6200 A-LE (agp).

It's the poorest thing that can run it though. And with all settings at minimum using a 1200x1024 display.

Also, do you know a way to delete the caché without being online?
Hey Boa I am not familar with deleting the cash offline but my best guess is in the application data folder, there has to be a folder in there that is delete'able... other then that I only know the online way which is this link. I will research this.

http://webplayer.unity3d.com/setup/



Last edited by WNxValdiore; 08-16-2012 at 03:42 PM..
 
 
 

Warrior Nation
 
WNxAshicus
08-16-2012, 03:55 PM
Unregistered
#
Cheers mate! you may have just saved me from Rage quitting



 
 
 

Warrior Nation
 
United States WNxJoseppi
08-16-2012, 04:20 PM
Local Time: 08:14 AM
Join Date: May 2011   #
WNxJoseppi's Avatar
+rep! thanks




In Clash of Clans I am JopeTope!
 
 
WNxJoseppi is offline
 

Warrior Nation
 
WNxValdiore
08-16-2012, 06:32 PM
Unregistered
#
Thank you WNxJoseppi, for the rep!

WNxBoanerges after doing some file searching and working on where the cache files where located... I have found where that can be done.

to clear your cache offline you want to do the following:

  1. My Computer
  2. Main Disk C:\
  3. Documents and Settings
  4. User Folder
  5. Local Settings (this is also a hidden folder you will need to enable the show hidden folders option)
  6. Application Data
  7. Unity
  8. WebPlayer
  9. Cache
  10. BSGO (Delete this file. or rather the files inside this folder and this would 100% positive clear your cache.)
I have never tested or done this before... but those are indeed all the cache files, they equal the same displayed online as 515 MegaBytes Data... so deleting these files will indeed clear the cache of BSGO. If it were me.. to be safe I would go into the BSGO folder and delete all the files there. this would be the best way to delete your cache offline. I hope this solves your question WNxBoanerges.


*WNxValdiore



Last edited by WNxValdiore; 08-16-2012 at 06:48 PM..
 
 
 

Warrior Nation
 
United States WNxScratch71
08-16-2012, 07:12 PM
Local Time: 09:14 AM
Join Date: Sep 2011   #
WNxScratch71's Avatar
Has anyone here tried waterfox and the 64 bit unity player? That is the setup I run and I have the occasional hang for a couple of seconds and then it comes back. I still get the socket error but that is connection issues.



 
 
WNxScratch71 is offline
 

Warrior Nation
 
United States WNxCreased
08-16-2012, 07:31 PM
Local Time: 08:14 AM
Join Date: Jul 2011   #10 
WNxCreased's Avatar
random text is random
Quote:
Originally Posted by WNxScratch71 View Post
Has anyone here tried waterfox and the 64 bit unity player? That is the setup I run and I have the occasional hang for a couple of seconds and then it comes back. I still get the socket error but that is connection issues.
I think jay is using waterfox now.

I talked to TJtnt a couple weeks back. He was having socket errors every 30 seconds (literally, I saw him load in repeatedly and just fly away guns off, at least 5 times) He said he switched to waterfox and 64 bit unity and things are actually running well for him now.



I'm using win7 64 bit with normal firefox, and I get hung up loading between systems about 1:5 jumps. My fix is to go into task manager and end the process "flash player plugin" closing the one with less memory consumption frees up the system, closing the one with more memory consumption just closes unity and then I have to refresh. This is an adobe issue obviously, just thought I'd share... cus why not.



Last edited by WNxCreased; 08-16-2012 at 07:39 PM..

 
 
WNxCreased is offline
 

Warrior Nation
 
WNxValdiore
08-16-2012, 11:34 PM
Unregistered
#11 
Quote:
Originally Posted by WNxCreased View Post
I think jay is using waterfox now.

I talked to TJtnt a couple weeks back. He was having socket errors every 30 seconds (literally, I saw him load in repeatedly and just fly away guns off, at least 5 times) He said he switched to waterfox and 64 bit unity and things are actually running well for him now.



I'm using win7 64 bit with normal firefox, and I get hung up loading between systems about 1:5 jumps. My fix is to go into task manager and end the process "flash player plugin" closing the one with less memory consumption frees up the system, closing the one with more memory consumption just closes unity and then I have to refresh. This is an adobe issue obviously, just thought I'd share... cus why not.
Flash player and Java both run in emulation to Unity Player.... there are many issues involving running Unity... from research part of it is the overall content in BSGO... overall content, meaning the following: the new content and updates placed on Unity Player. are not stable.. reason being is Unity Player.... Draw and 3D Engine... some of the updates BSGO comes out with Unity Player doesn't always support... Java also and Flash both are used with Unity Players emulation. Most likely until the problem is found within Unity Player and BSGO or the 2 emulators, the errors will still most likely poke through. I would, if I were you WNxCreased, is report your findings to the BSGO forum involving what you need to do with Flash... that might give them a smaller gap for them to look for errors. they might of not heard of this before and maybe it will help them... good to know. nice find.

*WNxValdiore



 
 
 

Primary: Neverwinter
Warrior Nation
 
Venezuela WNxBoanerges
08-17-2012, 12:36 AM
Local Time: 08:44 AM
Join Date: Dec 2011   #12 
WNxBoanerges's Avatar
Boa: Easy to pronounce
+rep for the cache location. This is really really useful.

By the way, i just remembered that my game got way more stable once i installed adobe cs6. Do you think this affects unity in any way, via flash plug-in?




 
 
WNxBoanerges is offline
 

Warrior Nation
 
WNxValdiore
08-17-2012, 01:10 AM
Unregistered
#13 
Quote:
Originally Posted by WNxBoanerges View Post
+rep for the cache location. This is really really useful.

By the way, i just remembered that my game got way more stable once i installed adobe cs6. Do you think this affects unity in any way, via flash plug-in?
Hey Boa, Photoshop CS6 good question.. though I kinda doubt it... adobe flash player and Cs6 are two separate programs. and I don't think flash player uses any Renders or Graphic effects from CS6 to Flash player.. though they are made by the same company... if there linked... I am uncertain... That might be a good question to ask one of the adobe specialists or developers... if Flash Player does use the CS6 or even Illustrators.. Renders, Graphics, or effects libraries that would help make the game run better. If it has indeed increased performance for you it is a possibility they are linked but having to pay for CS6 or Illustrator would be indeed outrageous in price to get BSGO running. unless someone knows how to cheat, I could never get CS6 for free or Illustrator for free that would be indeed nice... However I do know that Unity DOES USE DIRECT X and OPEN GL... and it is possible because Windows 7 uses a higher Direct X. and Open GL application then its predecessor XP... that is why XP is starting to get some nasty issues...also would explain Windows 7's issues too... I feel that Unity and BSGO are in a Transitioning phase to where there upgrading core graphical components of the game... and or mechanics... hence why I said up about the BSGO and Unity being unsupported... or unstable due to some of the new content and updates BSGO came out with and the new platform and demand for a higher quality 3D engine.

*WNxValdiore



 
 
 

Primary: Neverwinter
Warrior Nation
 
Venezuela WNxBoanerges
08-17-2012, 01:14 AM
Local Time: 08:44 AM
Join Date: Dec 2011   #14 
WNxBoanerges's Avatar
Boa: Easy to pronounce
I meant the whole creative suite (includes flash cs6 and another flash player and plugin for browsers). But yeah, probably it has to do with the .dll's it (flash cs6) adds to the system.




 
 
WNxBoanerges is offline
 

Warrior Nation
 
WNxJesseL777
08-17-2012, 01:20 AM
Unregistered
#15 
glad their minimum system requirements arent the actual minimum. i have no dedicated graphics card and only a 2.2 Ghz processor. lol. lucky me.



 
 
 

Warrior Nation
 
WNxValdiore
08-17-2012, 01:29 AM
Unregistered
#16 
Quote:
Originally Posted by WNxBoanerges View Post
I meant the whole creative suite (includes flash cs6 and another flash player and plugin for browsers). But yeah, probably it has to do with the .dll's it (flash cs6) adds to the system.
I see Boa... I have never owned the suit... if it makes the game better for you the CS6 Adobe Suite... might help... good find. but geez man how much did that cost lol.



 
 
 

Warrior Nation
 
WNxAmberley
08-17-2012, 04:27 AM
Unregistered
#17 
I use the Chrome browser and Unity is mostly stable, I just get a socket error every once in awhile.



 
 
 

Warrior Nation
 
WNxValdiore
08-17-2012, 12:29 PM
Unregistered
#18 
Quote:
Originally Posted by WNxAmberley View Post
I use the Chrome browser and Unity is mostly stable, I just get a socket error every once in awhile.
Some people have said that Google Chrome runs the game better and swear by it. Chrome or Firefox or whatever other Browser is giving you results I would stick to that.. though if you have not used Firefox before, I will again recommend it. though it may seem a little slower then Chrome. For me, I have ran Opera, Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, and Firefox, I also tinkered around with Waterfox for a small time. ran it along side the game. and got better results with Firefox... now don't just take my word for it. It is very possible, that your Browser or Explorer. is effected by what is in your computer via hardware even your service provider (ISP). and OS type. which gives me reason to say... you may want to research this on your own as I did... to see what works best for you, with the fixes I placed here. Do take in mind I had someone message me about the game freezing... the game may hang up. or lock for a time but if it has not error-ed to the black screen twittering your thumbs to log back in you are not kicked out of the game, you are still in the game. This normally is just hang up"" when switching to different places OP or Galactica... Jumping to a new system the game might hang up... wait it out... or better yet maybe use what WNxCreased said up top, hit ALT CTRL DELETE 3 times bring up your task manager go to processes and kill the lower memory flash plugin to un-freeze your system.

Most of the time though it will un-freeze itself... its just hung up. also make sure to let your New installed Unity player get warmed up... once you install a new player you have no cache or anything. your player and game are working extra hard to read data until it re-establishes a cache. "Got to warm the turkey before you stick it into the oven"... once everything is "Warmed up" your cache on BSGO is re-established, and you are still having problems with crashes.. I would start tinkering around with the Browser platform you are running the game on. there are quite a few. They can be found and downloaded here we even have a Top 10 Browser List here. If your a more statistical person and swear by the numbers. And then there is Waterfox . Now take in mind Waterfox should only be used on a 64bit Operating system.



 
 
 

Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.


Make a Donation to Warrior Nation with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure! Disclaimer©1998-2014 Digital Millennium Copyright Act.
WN Custom Skin Design by WNxWakko
Webmasters: WNxWakko & WNxWhiteWolf

Make a Donation to Warrior Nation with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure!


Navbar with Avatar by Kolbi
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 AM.