Thread: Norton vs McAfee
View Who's Online
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Tags
Tags
None
Reply
 
Thread Tools



Warrior Nation
 
WNxKypt
11-03-2003, 09:59 PM
Unregistered
#
Default
Norton vs McAfee
Hey guys, I was wondering what do you guys use for your pc security? The two leading brands are Norton and McAfee. I used Norton for a long time but it just kinda let me down so I'm giving McAfee a chance. Any of you have any ideas on which one is stadistically better? Thanks



 
 
Reply With Quote 
 

Warrior Nation
 
WNxRulingA
11-03-2003, 10:01 PM
Unregistered
#
Well, I use Norton - have for a while now. I keep my subscription current, and it has never let me down. Its never given me any problems.



 
 
Reply With Quote 
 

Warrior Nation
 
WNxMiztressNemesis
11-03-2003, 11:35 PM
Unregistered
#
NaV, NaV, Nav.. did I mention Nav?
I have found a few things in my time with Norton that I didn't pickup with McAfee.

The only thing I would suggest is that you check for LiveUpdates (each Wednesday when they are traditionally released) MANUALLY. Especially dependant upon how you obtained your NaV since sometimes NaV will not autoupdate as it should in some cases..



 
 
Reply With Quote 
 

Warrior Nation
 
Otakon
11-03-2003, 11:38 PM
Unregistered
#
I sincerely love Norton Antivirus over MacAfee. NAV seems to pick up more than MA does. I think NAV is just a little bit better made..



 
 
Reply With Quote 
 

Primary: Minecraft
Warrior Nation
 
United Kingdom WNxKnife
11-04-2003, 12:10 PM
Local Time: 11:23 PM
Join Date: Mar 2002   #
Kandy King
Norton for me hehehe.



 
 
WNxKnife is offline
Reply With Quote 
 

Primary: Ikariam.org
Warrior Nation
 
United States WNxAlmuric
11-04-2003, 12:19 PM
Local Time: 06:23 PM
Join Date: Jan 2003   #
WNxAlmuric's Avatar
I use them both (on different computers of course) and I couldnt recomment one over the other.




"Nobody tosses a dwarf!"
 
 
WNxAlmuric is offline
Reply With Quote 
 

Warrior Nation
 
WNxKypt
11-05-2003, 12:54 AM
Unregistered
#
I was a norton guy. Never did find anything wrong with it. My norton was updated weekly. Weekly scans on my pc and then BAM...I've been having bandwith leaks and I wasn't sure if it was my roomate w/ teh immensive ammount of spyware he has on his pc or what. I just realized that my pc was taken over by some sort of trojan and was being used as an XDCC bot for some warez channel. Norton never noticed that...I used McAfee and it noticed both, the trojan and the program hiding the trojan and removed them. Now I'm also using McAfee's firewall. Pc seems fine now...:/



 
 
Reply With Quote 
 

Primary: Ikariam.org
Warrior Nation
 
United States WNxAlmuric
11-05-2003, 07:12 AM
Local Time: 06:23 PM
Join Date: Jan 2003   #
WNxAlmuric's Avatar
Wow, thats some crap man. Did the McAfee firewall or antivirus notice it?




"Nobody tosses a dwarf!"
 
 
WNxAlmuric is offline
Reply With Quote 
 

Warrior Nation
 
WNxDopes
11-05-2003, 01:34 PM
Unregistered
#
for non coporate users, norton maybe a good choice. However I dont like it. I executed several viruses w/o knowing even though norton's real time av was running. At work my company can't run norton because it eats up too much of the system's resources.

now i use computer associates inoculateIT for av. This app is awesome. I remember seeing a suspious email file in a random location, i selected the file (which was the nimda virus and you should know that once you select the email it trys to execute itself) and CA's realtime monitor stopped it dead in its tracks. Of course i configured the program to set a stiffer security than default.

AV shouldn't be your only security vector though. Don't forget to run a firewall, whether hardware or software. Your free software options are ZoneAlarm (i hear its a mess to configure), BlackICE (i dont know if this is still available), or even the XP firewall...and there's more.



 
 
Reply With Quote 
 

Warrior Nation
 
WNxKypt
11-05-2003, 09:45 PM
Unregistered
#10 
The antiviruz noticed it. The firewall just kept blocking people trying to go in thru blocked ports and then the antiviruz found out what was doing it.



 
 
Reply With Quote 
 

Primary: Ikariam.org
Warrior Nation
 
United States WNxAlmuric
11-06-2003, 08:28 AM
Local Time: 06:23 PM
Join Date: Jan 2003   #11 
WNxAlmuric's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by WNxKypt
The antiviruz noticed it. The firewall just kept blocking people trying to go in thru blocked ports and then the antiviruz found out what was doing it.
Nice. What version of McAfee are you using? It might be time for me to upgrade mine.




"Nobody tosses a dwarf!"
 
 
WNxAlmuric is offline
Reply With Quote 
 

Warrior Nation
 
WNxKypt
11-06-2003, 10:01 PM
Unregistered
#12 
2004

(Damm character limit )



 
 
Reply With Quote 
 

Warrior Nation
 
WNxBj_Rox_ur_Sox
11-07-2003, 11:50 PM
Unregistered
#13 
they are both crap

use avg

www.grisoft.com

its a freebie for home users.



 
 
Reply With Quote 
 

Warrior Nation
 
WNxMiztressNemesis
11-13-2003, 10:27 AM
Unregistered
#14 
Ah maybe should have stressed Norton Professional Edition..



 
 
Reply With Quote 
 

Primary: Ikariam.org
Warrior Nation
 
United States WNxAlmuric
11-13-2003, 10:50 AM
Local Time: 06:23 PM
Join Date: Jan 2003   #15 
WNxAlmuric's Avatar
all i ever work with is the corporate or enterprise versions usually anyway.




"Nobody tosses a dwarf!"
 
 
WNxAlmuric is offline
Reply With Quote 
 

Warrior Nation
 
WNxBj_Rox_ur_Sox
11-14-2003, 03:20 PM
Unregistered
#16 
Quote:
Originally Posted by WNxMiztressNemesis
Ah maybe should have stressed Norton Professional Edition..

Any norton program is gay in my books. waste of system resources.



 
 
Reply With Quote 
 

Primary: Diablo 3
Warrior Nation
 
Russian Federation WNxSiN
11-18-2003, 06:28 PM
Local Time: 12:23 PM
Join Date: Nov 2003   #17 
WNxSiN's Avatar
I must say, norton IS a resource hogger, but it's much more effective at finding and dealing with viruses. AVG isnt that reliable, another computer in my house has AVG and about 5 worms have infected it after the install and AVG says it got rid of them, but they just keep comming back.......lol



 
 
WNxSiN is offline
Reply With Quote 
 

Warrior Nation
 
WNxBj_Rox_ur_Sox
11-19-2003, 01:42 AM
Unregistered
#18 
Lol those worms lol. Yet AVG picked up 97 viruses once when Nortons only found two...



 
 
Reply With Quote 
 

Primary: Diablo 3
Warrior Nation
 
Russian Federation WNxSiN
11-19-2003, 03:42 AM
Local Time: 12:23 PM
Join Date: Nov 2003   #19 
WNxSiN's Avatar
Maybe AVG detected and deleted 97, then NAV detected two more that AVG didnt



 
 
WNxSiN is offline
Reply With Quote 
 

Warrior Nation
 
WNxBj_Rox_ur_Sox
11-19-2003, 03:47 AM
Unregistered
#20 
lol. RIght. I think AVG is still better with the resource thing, dont give a f**k if u disagree with me too bad. Dotn care lol.

Depends on what AVg you have the freebie or the paid one. They are different you know :p



 
 
Reply With Quote 
 

Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.


Make a Donation to Warrior Nation with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure! Disclaimer©1998-2015 Digital Millennium Copyright Act.
WN Custom Skin Design by WNxWakko
Webmasters: WNxWakko & WNxWhiteWolf

Make a Donation to Warrior Nation with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure!


Navbar with Avatar by Kolbi
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 PM.